Yamaha Viking Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi Everyone,
I am new to the forum and new to the world of sxs. I am looking into getting my first sxs. I have been riding ATVs for over 17 years so I have a general idea of what is going on, but I do have some questions and concerns. Looking at the forum I do see some pretty concerning issues with the Viking such as the exhaust heat, noise, and preheating the diff. All, in my opion, are pretty major. On the other hand I have a few ATVs which all are Yammi's, so I am already partial to the brand. Also I live in Mississippi which we get some extremely hot and sticky days. Are there any good simple mods to help keep the big boy cool on tose days where the heat index can top well over 100 degrees?

My questions are:
Should I wait to see what is Yam going to do about a new power plant?
Is the 700 going to be more than sufficent enough to tow my 5x8 trailer loaded with firewood or riding mower?
Is Yam going to do some updates to help with the diff and noise issue?
How does the 700 perform when its under a load considering that the Viking is a tad bigger than the Rhino?

As you can see I am not a speed demon so HP isn't my game. I'm more concerned about pulling power seeing these other machines with the vtwins and big cc numbers is making me wonder how well does those machines do in towing and hauling.
I was thinking about getting a Pioneer considering the cheaper price, but not having a low range for what I am buying this machine for is...I'm not sure because I never drove a Pioneer. I don't know how that tranny will like having a 1200-1400ib trailer behind it lol

So basically what I am looking for is a sxs to ride on gravel roads, tow my trailer, carry some wood and tools, and something for my dad to hunt with. What are you guys/gals thoughts?

Thanks in advance and please excuse me if my questions seem a bit dumb...

·
Registered
27 Posts